Saturday 20 October 2018
  • :
  • :

ZongoNews Radio

US new requirements for visa waiver countries

Washington – The United States Department of Homeland Security is adding new requirements for countries that participate in the Visa Waiver Programme as part of the Trump administration’s ongoing efforts to tighten border and travel security.

DHS announced that the 38 countries participating in the programme will now be required to use US counter-terrorism information to screen travellers crossing their borders, as part of their existing information-sharing agreements.

The US will also begin assessing how effectively the countries are protecting against insider threats to aviation security by making sure they vet their airport employees and ensure those employees aren’t corrupted.
They’ll also require Hungary, Greece, Portugal and San Marino — four countries whose citizens stayed in the US longer than permitted at a rate of 2% or more last year — to launch public information campaigns to educate their citizens on the specifics of the programme and consequences of violating its conditions.

The Visa Waiver Programme allows citizens of 38 countries to travel to the US for business or tourism for up to 90 days without having to obtain visas. About 20 million people travel on the programme every year.

„The United States faces an adaptive and agile enemy, as terrorists continue to explore ways to reach our country and to direct, enable, and inspire attacks against us,“ the agency’s new secretary, Kirstjen Nielsen, says in a statement. „It’s critically important we stay ahead of these threats by improving our security posture.“

As part of the roll-out, DHS is also calling on Congress to pass legislation to make permanent a series of measures already in place, such as requiring countries to allow US Federal Air Marshals to operate on planes headed to the US.

Senior administration officials stressed they expect the countries to comply voluntarily. But if they don’t, the US could take a number of steps, including, at last resort, ending their membership in the programme.

Officials say a number of countries are already in compliance, but declined to say how many or which ones.